‘Unpopular Music 2009, A Benefit Album For FBi Radio’ collects seven exclusive tracks, recorded live at ‘Unpopular Music 2009′ in which three FBi radio shows, New Weird Australia, Unputdownable & Sunday Night At The Movies, came together to present a benefit to support their station.


1. NICK WISHART, Untitled (Live at Unpopular Music 2009) (04:22)
2. ANNA CHASE, Lines (Live at Unpopular Music 2009) (04:52)
3. SCISSOR LOCK, Untitled (Live at Unpopular Music 2009) (12:08)
4. ANON, Untitled (Live at Unpopular Music 2009) (16:29)
5. kyü, Sunny In Splodges (Live at Unpopular Music 2009) (05:19)
6. MANDALA TRAP (Pimmon & Jeff Burch) – Untitled (Live at Unpopular Music 2009) (7:02)
7. PIMMON, Untitled (Live at Unpopular Music 2009) 6:13

Recorded live at The Red Rattler, Sydney, November 2009.
Recorded and mixed by FBi Radio 94.5FM.
Artwork by Sopp Collective.


Three FBi radio shows, New Weird Australia, Unputdownable & Sunday Night At The Movies, came together to present ‘Unpopular Music’ – a benefit to support their station. They pooled their collective networks and gathered twelve of Sydney’sinnovative, experimental artists – all of whom are donated their time, with all proceeds going directly to FBi, helping to ensure the ongoing survival of Sydney’s home of new music.

The line-up was headed by Pimmon & Jeff Burch – playing both solo sets and a joint live performance, launching their new collaborative project, Mandala Trap. Pimmon has forged an international reputation for creating dense, challenging and engaging electronic music – and, under his given name of Paul Gough, also presents a show on FBi titled Paulʼs Play Lunch. Jeff Burch runs The Spring Press label, was formerly one quarter of Sydney band Songs and launched his solo record in 2009 on Perthʼs Farmer Frontier label.

The all-Sydney bill also included:

Kyu an experimental pop outfit who delivered an amazing performance at the New Weird Australia showcase at Sound Summit

Anon aka noise artist, musician and label manager Anna Vo

Scissor Lock, an experimental project from musician Marcus Whale

Anna Chase, a multi instrumentalist and vocalist who weaves melodies into familiar yet dreamy pop constructions.

• sound artist, musician and chronic circuit bender Nick Wishart – long-standing member of Toydeath

• plus DJ Sets from Kevin Purdy (Tooth), Tim Ritchie (Sound Quality, ABC Radio National) and Tom Smith (Cleptoclectics).